I REVIEW: SHATTER ME (SHATTER ME #1) BY TAHEREH MAFI


Shatter Me (Shatter Me, #1)

Title: Shatter Me

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Publisher: HarperTeen

Genre: Romance, Dystopia, Young Adult

Publication Date: November 15, 2011

Rating: 5/5

★★★★★


Synopsis (from Goodreads):

I have a curse
I have a gift
I am a monster
I’m more than human
My touch is lethal
My touch is power
I am their weapon
I will fight back
Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.
The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.
The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.
Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

Review:

Tahereh Mafi is my all time favorite author so of course my first book review is of Shatter Me! Her writing is like poetry and absolutely gorgeous!

“The moon is a loyal companion.
It never leaves. It’s always there, watching, steadfast, knowing us in our light and dark moments, changing forever just as we do. Every day it’s a different version of itself. Sometimes weak and wan, sometimes strong and full of light. The moon understands what it means to be human.
Uncertain. Alone. Cratered by imperfections.”

“Hope is hugging me, holding me in its arms, wiping away my tears and telling me that today and tomorrow and two days from now I will be just fine and I’m so delirious I actually dare to believe it.”

First, we meet the main character, Juliette Ferrars, a total badass with superpowers. She’s locked up in an asylum because of her power to kill anyone she touches. In this dystopian setting, the country is under the control of “The Reestablishment”, the typical kind of result when power falls into the wrong hands. Then, we’re introduced to Adam, a (hot) guy from her past that is now a soldier for the Reestablishment. Their friendship rekindles slowly and that’s when she meet our hot, brooding, mysterious villian, Warner. He is the son of the leader of the Reestablishment with a fascination for Juliette. He performs experiments on her to learn more about her special powers and use them to torture people. Juliette resists and plans an escape with Adam while trying not to raise suspicion with Warner. You’ll have to read the book yourself to find out what happens next, but *hint hint*, things get reallllly interesting.

Shatter Me was one of the first series that got me into reading and so it is dear to my heart. I love her use of imagery to enrich the whole reading experience and it is like nothing I have read before. Even though there are obvious elements you expect like the romance, dystopian setting, and superpowers, the way Tahereh Mafi weave together everything is absolutely new, unique and brilliant. I fell in love with Shatter Me after reading the first page.

“I’ve been locked up for 264 days. I have nothing but a small notebook and a broken pen and the numbers in my head to keep me company. 1 window. 4 walls. 144 square feet of space. 26 letters in an alphabet I haven’t spoken in 264 days of isolation. 6,336 hours since I’ve touched another human being.”

Honestly, I could go on and on about everything that I love about Shatter Me but that would be a very lengthy review. I highly HIGHLY recommend this book for anyone, it is a must read for the YA community!

2 thoughts on “I REVIEW: SHATTER ME (SHATTER ME #1) BY TAHEREH MAFI

Leave a Reply

